Forensic Medicine Section

The Forensic Medicine Section within the Division of Pathology is dedicated towards the provision of education, training and research in all aspects of the discipline. The section maintains close links with the pathologists who are employed by NHS Lothian - University Hospitals Division to carry out postmortem examinations on the instructions of the Procurators Fiscal. Past and present research interests within the section include deaths due to fire, suicide, drug use, brain trauma, road traffic collisions, cot death, forensic archaeology, odontology, psychology, head injury, DNA and the role of the autopsy in the investigation of death.

Role Name Phone Email

 
Head of Section Dr Colin Smith +44 (0) 131 242 7979 col.smith@ed.ac.uk
Consultant Forensic Pathologist Dr Ralph Bouhaidar +44 (0) 131 465 9632 ralph.bouhaidar@ed.ac.uk
Consultant Forensic Pathologist Dr Robert Ainsworth +44 (0) 131 465 9643 robert.ainsworth@ed.ac.uk
Consultant Forensic Pathologist Dr Clare Bryce +44 (0) 131 465 9642 clare.bryce@ed.ac.uk
Consultant Forensic Pathologist Dr Kerryanne Shearer + 44 (0) 131 465 465 9640 k.shearer@ed.ac.uk
Consultant Forensic Pathologist Dr Ian Wilkinson +44 (0) 131 465 9641 iwilkin2@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Forensic Service Contract Manager Carol Mulvenna +44 (0) 131 465 9638 Carol.Mulvenna@ed.ac.uk
Co-ordinator of Forensic Education Dr Alex Graham +44 (0) 131 650 2979 alex.graham@ed.ac.uk
Administrative Support Angela MacKay +44 (0) 131 465 9636 angela.mackay@ed.ac.uk
Administrative Support Kirsteen Forrest +44 (0) 131 465 9635 Kirsteen.Forrest@ed.ac.uk
Administrative Support Linda Gordon + 44 (0) 131 465 465 9633 lgordon2@staffmail.ed.ac.uk


Further Info: